Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview- Lynn Townsend

Why did you choose the particular setting/military branch for your story?
Well, my dad was a submariner, back in the day. And he used to say “Every day above ground is a good day.” I used to think he was being all profound and stuff. And then I really thought about it and realized that he was saying “every day I’m not in the Navy is a good day.”
Here’s the thing; I’ve been told by many many people that “sea stories” are fair game.
It might be, however, that certain members of my family won’t agree with this. Like my uncle. “Snake.” Both my dad and my uncle were in the Navy, during Vietnam. For quite a long time, I called my uncle “Uncle Snake” without having any idea about the reasons behind it. Snake Dance is… well, inspired by this particular sea story.
But if I disappear suddenly… it’s because my uncle killed me. Just so you know.
Do you have a favorite military novel, movie or author?
Midnight Clear is specifically for inflicting on other people. It’s so amazingly depressing. It’s one of those grab the kleenex and hate all of mankind movies.
I’m also a fan of Das Boot… it’s one of those things, where halfway through to movie, you realize that you’re rooting for the Germans. Das Boot taught me a lot about crafting a story; you can make anyone sympathetic. Or repugnant. With the power of words.
I’ve watched a ton of military or military-esque movies. The Jack Ryan series (altho I will always love Alec Baldwin as Ryan, rather than the somewhat less sarcastic but more adorable Harrison Ford) hold a special place in my film collection. And I love just about anything Science-Fiction that has large guns and Colonial Marines…
One of my favorite movies is an old Ridley Scott movie, from 1977, The Duellists, which is about a pair of French officers around the Napoleonic wars. Brilliant piece, just brilliant.
As far as books go, I don’t tend to read many strictly military novels. I made the mistake of reading the Tom Clancy book – love Hunt for Red October the movie. Got bogged down with Clancy’s intensive details when I read it. I felt like I needed a cast of characters and a guide to military protocol. I guess I could call Robert Asprin’s “Fool’s Company” series military books, but I might get smacked for doing so… Anne Gracie, a romance writer that I’m immensely fond of, wrote a good book, Perfect Stranger, that while it wasn’t about the war, exactly, dealt a lot with post-war depression and issues.
What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?
Right now, I’m working on making myself less crazy. My goal for 2012 was to submit between 6 and 12 short stories  without any attached goal for publication. Thus far this year I have submitted 16 short stories and had 7 accepted. So, there’s a lot to chose from and several things have come out just recently.
My goal for 2013 is to concentrate more on my long-term and longer story projects; I have a full-length fantasy romance that I’m editing, a steampunk romance that I’ve written up the outline for, and a few other pieces that range upward of 50,000 words. We’ll see. I get awfully tempted by submission calls.
I did a piece for Sommer Marsden’s collection, Coming Together: Hungry For Love, which is a charity piece with the proceeds from sale going to the American Diabetes Association. I was especially pleased to be included in this fantastic collection because 1) hey, zombies, how can you go wrong? and 2) Sommer Marsden is one of my personal heroes and 3) did I mention zombies? 4) my best friend’s daughter – who is also my daughter’s best friend – is a juvenile diabetic, so I’m really pleased that my work is going to sponsor research that can potentially help out this wonderful family 5) besides, ZOMBIES!
Speaking of zombies, I’ve got another zombie-romance coming out in January with Torquere press, who is an LGBT publisher. He Loves Me for my Braaaaaains.
For more information, you can find me on my blog: Paid by the Weird paidbytheweird.blogspot.com and on Facebook www.facebook.com/LynnTownsendwriter
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2012 by in The Interviews.
