Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview- Mercy Loomis

Mercy Loomis’s sexy and poignant “Christmas Presents” explores the attraction between two young men in the era before “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” was repealed.

Do you have a connection to the military? (Married, dated, served, related?) What branch?

My dad and my aunts and uncles served in Vietnam. My grandfather served in WWII. I have several cousins and friends who are either in the military now or who are veterans. The closest I came my self was two semesters of Military Science my freshman year of college.
 
What is it about military heroes that you find appealing?
I think that it takes an extraordinary person to dedicate so much of their life to fighting for other people. So often they are required to put their duty before themselves. I have nothing but respect for people like that.
 
Why did you choose the particular setting/military branch for your story?
Robbie and Chi are side characters in my dark urban fantasy novel Scent and Shadow. I wanted to find out just what happened that Christmas Robbie decided not to come home.
 
What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?
I’m currently working on a dark paranormal family drama that takes place in Roman Britain, as well as releasing new short stories every month. You can find me at www.mercyloomis.com, and I’m also on Twitter (@mercyloomis) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/mercyloomis).
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2012 by in The Interviews.
