Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview- Anya Richards

Anya Richards explores the difficult topic of PTSD in her tender, sensual story “The Thunder of War.”

What is it about military heroes that you find appealing?

There is something infinitely sexy and wonderful about a man, or woman, who has the desire to serve society. The military isn’t for everyone, so those who go in hoping just to put in their time and reap personal benefit don’t last. A man or woman who re-ups not only shows they have the discipline and strength to handle the job, but that they’re prepared to risk their own lives to protect others, often without the appreciation they deserve.

I love the concept of a disciplined, mentally and physically strong hero or heroine, but there’s much more. The very nature of their job opens them to stressors most of the rest of society never face. How they and their loved ones deal with those situations makes for compelling drama and is ultra-rich fodder for an author.

What is your favorite military anecdote?

I have connections to the military through one of my best friends and also through my husband, and some of the things I’ve seen and heard make me laugh. Military officers have, I think, a unique way of viewing friendship, and are among some of the most competitive people I’ve ever met. I never knew Scrabble could be a cut-throat battle until the night I went to the Officer’s mess at Up-Park Camp in Jamaica and watched the officers play. They’d developed their own strict rules and it was the rowdiest game, with taunts and insults flying, even some chest-beating. And I swear those men had memorized the Scrabble dictionary!

Then there was the time my husband went home for a visit and his friend, who was in the air wing, decided to welcome him with a fly-by, including flying his plane between two downtown buildings. Needless to say, he went to ‘the mountaintop’ on that one!

What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?

Right now I’m almost finished the third book in my Unveiled Seductions series, which is set in a world parallel to our own where all the denizens of myth and legend reside. I’m also working on a new erotic historical series. More information about me and my books can be found at my website www.anyarichards.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2012 by in The Interviews.
