Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview- Kelly Maher

Reminding us of the sacrifices military couples endure on a regular basis, Kelly Maher’s “Homecoming” is a powerful and erotic story of hope and love.

Do you have a connection to the military? (Married, dated, served,
related?) What branch?

My connection to the military is through family members. Both of my

grandfathers served in World War II, one in the Navy and one in the

Army. A number of my uncles served in Vietnam, again with the Army and

Navy. Finally, a cousin of mine served with the Army in Iraq.

If this was your first time writing a military-themed story, what
inspired you and what did you find challenging about it?

I had seen one of Kristina’s call for submissions when time was short

to get the stories into her. I had only planned on passing the

information on to a number of friends as I had absolutely nothing

written that would fit the theme. That night when I was falling

asleep, I had a vision of a woman crying, and the first line of the

story came in a flash. I hurriedly wrote it down and then took myself

back off to bed. I spent the next few days plotting out the story and

writing it. The most challenging thing for me was making sure the

emotion I felt in that first scene carried through the whole story.

What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?

Right now I’m working on a few projects, rewriting one novel, plotting

out the one I’ll be writing after when I finish with the first, and

toying with a short story featuring a former rugby player. So, nothing

final and ready to be talked about at this point 🙂 I can be found on

the web at www.kellymaher.com and on Twitter as @kmmaher.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2012 by in The Interviews.
