Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview- Christine d’Abo

In “Wilco,” Christine d’Abo treats us to a look at what happens with the uniform comes off and a naval officer because a submissive gentleman.

Do you have a favorite military novel, movie or author?

I have to say that I’m a big fan of Good Morning Vietnam. It was the first time I’d watched a war movie that really left an impact on me. I was quite young when I saw it in the movie theatre (and I only went because I adore Robin Williams), so I wasn’t sure what to expect beyond the silliness. Seeing the war through Adrian Cronauer’s eyes really opened mine to what war was really about.
What do you think is the sexiest aspect of the military?
It’s a combination of the military mentality—their sense of duty and honor—and the formality of the uniforms that really appeals to me. People in the military are able to go above and beyond as a matter of principle, rather than as something they “must” do. A person who so unselfishly puts their life on the line for others, well, you can’t get any sexier than that.
If this was your first time writing a military-themed story, what inspired you and what did you find challenging about it?
Yes, this was my first time writing a military-themed story, and I have to say I was quite nervous. Like anything, I wanted to make sure that I got the details right, and I certainly didn’t want to offend anyone. But I still needed to put my own twist on the story, and how I thought some people might deal with the stresses they are faced with on a daily basis. I like to think that I accomplished both.
What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?

Right now I’m working with my agent to pitch my mainstream steampunk romance to publishers. On my writing plate, I’m working on book two of a new series that I just sold to Carina Press.  More details to come on that as soon as the contract is finalized. J

 

To find out more about me, please check out my website at www.christinedabo.com, or chat with me on Twitter @Christine_dAbo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2012 by in The Interviews.
