Duty and Desire

edited by Kristina Wright

Interview – Michelle Augello-Page

Michelle Augello-Page beautifully captures the modern military experience in her raw, bittersweet story, “Home.”

If this was your first time writing a military-themed story, what inspired you and what did you find challenging about it?

 I was inspired to write a military-themed story specifically for this anthology. I had seen the call for Duty and Desire twice. At first, I didn’t plan on submitting anything because I have no connection to the military – that was the biggest challenge for me because, as a civilian, I felt a bit like an outsider looking in. Nevertheless, when I came across the call a second time, I decided to do some research.

One of my favorite parts of writing is researching, and I found myself all over the internet looking at everything from deployment statistics to how to plan a military wedding. I had come across some websites and forums specific to supporting the military lifestyle, and I was really touched by the military relationship dynamic.

My story is about the deep connection between a woman and her husband, who is deployed in Afghanistan. At heart, Home is a love story, told across the landscape of the body, and explores the concept of home as a shared mental, physical, and emotional place. I loved these characters and felt so strongly while writing their story. I was immersed in the dynamic of their relationship and the bittersweet longing to be with each other, to be home.

Why did you choose this particular setting/military branch for your story?

 On the websites and forums I looked at, I was touched by the openness with which so many people shared their personal stories and offered support and advice to each other. For those serving in the military, as well as those at home, the pain of separation from their loved ones can be overwhelming. Having a supportive partner is a tremendous source of strength. It struck me just how much the military relationship dynamic requires a profound base of love and trust. This type of bond transcends time and place, and is one of the reason so many military relationships stay strong. I wanted to write a story for the unsung heroes of the military – the partners who support and love those who offer their lives to serve our country.

What are you working on now and where can we find out more about you?

I write poetry, erotica, and dark fiction and I am always working on both creating and publishing in these different genres. There are a few projects I am working on right now, including a book of poems and a collection of dark and erotic stories. I am also the editor of Siren, a quarterly online zine for artists of all genres who create new, edgy, and experimental work. You can find out more about me via my website/blog at michelleaugellopage.wordpress.com and through a variety of social networking sites such as facebook and twitter.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2012 by in The Interviews.

Navigation

